Chad Simpson Gets First World of Outlaws Victory at Davenport

July 25, 2018

DAVENPORT, Iowa - Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, defended his home state against the invaders of the World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series Tuesday night, picking up a $10,000 victory as the national tour made its first visit to Davenport Speedway in more than a decade.


Leading all 40 laps from the pole starting spot, Simpson earned turned back challenges from WoO title contenders Mike Marlar and Chris Madden in earning the first WoO victory of his career.


Simpson crossed the finish line 0.442 seconds ahead of Madden of Gray Court, S.C., who entered the night second in series standings, 22 points behind series leading Marlar.


Simpson’s brother Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, advanced from the 12th starting spot to finish third while Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., slide back to fourth at the finish. Former series champion Rick Eckert of York, Pa., was fifth.


The race’s only caution appeared when Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, got into the frontstretch wall on lap 32. 


Defending series champion Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., was running third before pulling into the infield midway through the race with smoke trailing his race car. He was scored 16th in the final rundown.  


Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, set was the night’s fastest qualifier and won his heat race, but he had to start from the tail of the field when engine problems forced him into a backup car for the feature. He rallied to finish 12th. 


WoO competitors head to Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway Friday and Saturday for the Prairie Dirt Classic. plans live video coverage of the $30,000-to-win event.


Feature Finish: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Chris Madden, (3) Chris Simpson, (4) Mike Marlar, (5) Rick Eckert, (6) Frank Heckenast Jr., (7) Shane Clanton, (8) Chase Junghans, (9) Tyler Erb, (10) Brent Larson, (11) David Breazeale, (12) Devin Moran, (13) Brian Birkhofer, (14) Tyler Bruening, (15) Spencer Diercks, (16) Brandon Sheppard, (17) Bobby Pierce, (18) Dave Eckrich, (19) Joel Callahan, (20) Justin Kay, (21) Jared Siefert, (22) Jonathan Brauns, (23) Skip Frey. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Moran, 20.756 seconds. Heat race winners: Moran, Marlar, Chad Simpson.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload

© 2018 by Jonathan Joiner. Proudly created with