Hill Holds off McDowell in Southern Nationals Thriller at Boyd's

July 25, 2018

Ringgold, Ga. – Vic Hill won Tuesday night’s Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Series event at Boyd’s Speedway in a photo finish over Dale McDowell.


Hill, the veteran driver and engine builder from Mosheim, Tenn., jumped out to the lead from his pole-starting position and fought back challenges from Randy Weaver through the middle stages of the 35-lap event then held off McDowell late to score a $3,500 payday and his first Southern Nationals win of the season.


Advancing from the fourth-starting position, McDowell used the low groove to pass Weaver for second with three laps remaining then quickly reeled in Hill to challenge for the lead. The Chickamauga, Ga., veteran used the outside groove to pull ahead of Hill entering turn three on the final lap, but Hill battled back on the inside to beat McDowell by mere inches at the finish line.


Weaver held on to finish third.  The event marked the Crossvile, Tenn., veteran’s third Late Model start since suffering a concussion during a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at East Alabama Motor Speedway in 2016.


John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn., and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., completed the top five.


Points leader Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., finished eighth, allowing McDowell to narrow the gap to just four points with three rounds remaining in the 10-race mini-series. Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., who entered Sunday’s event tied with McDowell for second in series standings, suffered mechanical troubles while running in the sixth position early in the event.


The tour takes Wednesday night off before returning to action with a $3,500 to-win event at Crossville (Tenn.) Speedway on Thursday.


Feature Finish: (1)  Vic Hill, (2) Dale McDowell, (3) Randy Weaver, (4) John Ownbey, (5) Donald McIntosh, (6) David Payne, (7) Cory Hedgecock, (8) Casey Roberts, (9) J.T. Seawright, (10) Aaron Ridley, (11) Joey Coulter, (12) David Doherty, (13) Cla Knight, (14) Kenny Collins, (15) Casey Turman, (16) Tyler Millwood, (17) Forrest Trent, (18) Clay Harris, (19) Craig Greer, (20) Bobby Giffin, (21) Jadon Frame, (22) Brandon Overton. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Weaver, 14.098 seconds. B-main winners: Seawright, Roberts.



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload

© 2018 by Jonathan Joiner. Proudly created with Wix.com