Moran Scores $30,000 Victory at Fairbury's Prairie Dirt Classic

July 29, 2018

FAIRBURY, Ill. —Devin Moran scored the biggest victory of his career in winning the World of Outlaws Late Model Series sanctioned Prairie Dirt Classic Saturday night at Fairbury American Legion Speedway.


Moran, the 23-year-old racer from Dresdon, Ohio., took the lead for good on lap 79 from defending series champion and defending race winner, Brandon Sheppard then led the final 21 laps to score a $30,000 payday.


“It’s incredible what we can do with such a little team that we have. Everyone on this team have come together and to be able to do what we’re doing is so unbelievable,” Moran said after the event. “It’s by far the biggest one; this tops them all. It’s just incredible what we’ve done, and I can’t thank God enough for blessing us with the capabilities to come out here and race let alone win.”


Pole-sitter Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, jumped to the early lead. Second-starting Sheppard overtook Simpson for the top spot and brought Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., who started fifth and Moran, who started third, with him. The three WoO regulars pulled away from the rest of the field with Moran taking the lead for the first time on lap 42.


Sheppard took advantage of the event’s final restart on lap 69 to challenge Moran for the lead. On lap 72, Sheppard took the lead from Moran to lose it a lap later. 


Sheppard was again scored as the leader on lap 78 only to lose the lead again on the next lap to Moran for what turned out to be the final time. Moran pulled away over the final 20 laps to win by 2.385 seconds over Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., who passed Sheppard for the second position late.


Sheppard held on to finish third, while Madden and Billy Drake rounding out the top five.


The series heads to Plymouth (Wi.) Dirt Track on Monday night for the $10,000-to-win Wisconsin Refrigerated 50.


Feature Finish: (1) Devin Moran, (2) Mike Marlar, (3) Brandon Sheppard, (4) Chris Madden, (5) Billy Drake, (6) Shannon Babb, (7) Brian Shirley, (8) Ryan Unzicker, (9) Dennis Erb Jr., (10) Shane Clanton, (11) Kevin Weaver, (12) Gordy Gundaker, (13) Jimmy Owens, (14) Tyler Erb, (15) Tanner English, (16) Jonathan Davenport, (17) Brent Larson, (18) Daniel Flessner, (19) Chase Junghans, (20) David Breazeale, (21) Chris Simpson, (22) Michael Kloos, (23) Don O'Neal, (24) Kyle Bronson, (25) Bobby Pierce, (26) Rick Eckert, (27) Paul Parker, (28) Billy Moyer, (29) Jason Jameson. Fast qualifier (among 61 cars): Bobby Pierce 13.188 seconds. Heat winners: Simpson, Sheppard, Moran, Babb. B-main winners: Gundaker, Moyer, T. Erb, Pierce.



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Please reload

© 2018 by Jonathan Joiner. Proudly created with